The Baby is a….

I just realized that I never posted whether the baby is a boy or a girl! Since we found out I haven’t been writing on this blog very often and it’s mostly because I’ve been doing some crazy nesting and lots of reading and contemplation. I’ve also felt a lot more internally focused and at times I have even considered ending this blog.

Anyway… today my grandmother gave me a present for the baby…

her first pair of shoes and

her first hand-knit sweater from Grammy!

We’re having a GIRL!!!! Bring on the pink and purple! I’ve been planning the nursery and no big surprise to anyone who knows me it’s going to be a light purple.

I haven’t decided on the exact shade but it’s just heavenly thinking about it. I’m also considering painting vertical stripes with two light shades of purple and doing some stenciling, maybe flowers with a bit darker shade of purple and some yellow.

The coolest thing happened to me during one of my crazy nesting frenzies. I was unpacking a box from 4 years ago, when we moved from NYC. I found a bunch of my old journals and I just happened to open up to a letter I wrote to my daughter. I can’t remember the exact date but it was before I was even married. I wrote about how I couldn’t wait to meet her but it would be a long time because I had to get married and have two sons before I would have her. How’s that for women’s intuition?

This entry was posted in Motherhood & Parenting, My Children and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Baby is a….

  1. Congratulations to you. Having a daughter is the best thing. For me it feels like I have completed a special circle of reproduction or something, not sure, but its very special. I love my son so much, but I really understand my daughter.

    I love how you knew- I think I did too.
    I am so happy for you.
    Please don’t stop blogging.

    • Jennifer says:

      CF, Thank you so much. I know what you mean. When we were trying to decide if we were going to have a third child, I just kept thinking that something would be missing in my life. I’ve just always felt having a daughter was part of my life mission! Thanks for encouraging me to continue blogging too. I kind of needed that right now.

  2. OH YEAH! I had the two boys and was surprised – TOTALLY surprised with a girl in January! LOVE IT. It is so fun and so different! I am so excited for you! Think of all the play you get to do in the coming years that will be different than the boy play 🙂

    Thanks for sharing your exciting news! EEEEK!

    • Jennifer says:

      Sarah, I always love reading your blog but it’s been even more exciting because you’re living what I’ll be living in a few months. I know I’ve been dreaming of all the fun I’m going to have with this little girl. So excited!!!

  3. So happy to hear your joy! We’ve missed you at A2U2. Hope to see all of you soon!

    • Jennifer says:

      Cathryn, Thank you, I know I really miss A2U2. I haven’t been for a month between sicknesses and family obligations and now traveling but I’m looking forward to going back as soon as I can!

  4. miruspeg says:

    Oh Jen how absolutely wonderful for you and the boys to soon be sharing your lives with a baby girl. And also how fantastic to find that note you wrote all those years ago.
    That would have really blown your mind to realise how accurate your intuition is.
    You rock sweet friend!
    Big, big hugs
    Peggy xxxxx

    • Jennifer says:

      Peggy, Oh my gosh, I just was writing comments on your blog and didn’t know you had stopped by here! I’m so happy you’re posting again! Thanks so much. I’ve definitely come to trust more in my intuition. with love Jen

  5. oh, how precious are those shoes!! wow – your intuition was spot on!! 🙂

    congratulations, again. when is she expected to arrive?

    • Jennifer says:

      Heidi, I know I want some cute purple shoes like those too! She is due August 6th but this time it will be a planned c-section so she’ll be early, unlike both of my sons who were almost two weeks late.

  6. Leslie says:

    Jennifer! I didn’t know you were pregnant again… congratulations on a GIRL! How amazing. I love all the purple – that’s my favorite color, too. What a thrill. And your mother’s intuition? Incredible! so happy for you. Hope you’re hanging in there – I know it’s tough being pregnant and chasing little ones!

  7. Dreamin. I love blogging. You all express your feelings the right way, because they are your feeling, focus on your blog it is great.1

  8. I appreciate you sharing this wonderful news with us all. Best of luck to you in the future.

    Joe

Leave a comment