Natural Lip Balm, Shea Body Butter & Another Lotion Recipe

Natural lotion with shea butter, cocoa butter & safflower oil.

It’s been a while since I posted about making natural lotion. I’ve been experimenting a lot over the past year and except for one batch none of the lotions have separated without the use of borax. The only thing that I did different for the batch that separated was to use shea butter. The batch that I made this week also contains shea butter but I added borax and so far it has not separated. I’ll update if this should change.

Ingredients

  • 3 oz Shea Butter (weight-used a scale)
  • 4 oz Cocoa Butter (by volume-just used the whole container)
  • 5 oz Safflower oil (by volume-used measuring cup)
  • 1.5 oz Beeswax (weight-used a scale)
  • 1/4 teaspoon Borax
  • 12 oz Water (by volume-used measuring cup)

If you’re interested in making your own natural lotion, then I would recommend reading some of the great tutorials on the web.  This tutorial by Renee of the blog Fimby was my original inspiration. I’m not an expert but if you have any questions, then you can email me at jen@inspiremama.com.

Natural Lip Balm

I was surprised how easy this was to make and it feels great. It’s really worth it to make our own lip balm, especially when I look at all the nasty chemicals in many of the lip balms sold in the stores. I’m looking forward to trying other recipes. I’d like to try something with honey or peppermint. I found the following recipe on this website, which has many recipes from soap to body scrubs to lip balm, just scroll down to the one titled Easy Lip Balm Recipe- using Lanolin.

Ingredients

  • 1 oz olive oil
  • .3 0z Lanolin
  • .4 oz shea butter
  • .4 oz Beeswax

I used the scale to weigh all the ingredients.

Shea Body Butter

I based this body butter on the recipe found here. I made a few changes in the ingredients but I followed the process. We are all loving this body butter! It is very thick and luxurious. Because there is no water in it, I’m thinking it would be best to use this after a shower or bath to help lock in the moisture.

Here are the ingredients that I used;

  • 6 oz Shea Butter
  • 4 oz Safflower Oil
  • 1 tsp Cornstarch
  • 20 drops of Lemon Essential Oil
  • 20 drops of Grapefruit Essential Oil
This entry was posted in Health-Mind, Body & Soul, Natural & Green and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Natural Lip Balm, Shea Body Butter & Another Lotion Recipe

  1. So pleased for your successes. Just this week Celine made a gorgeous lotion, sans borax, using Rosemary Gladstar’s recipe from her book. It smells so wonderful! I love how kid friendly lotion making is.

    • Jennifer says:

      Renee, thanks for comment. I get so much inspiration from your website and I am going to look into Rosemary Gladstar’s book. I agree about how kid friendly lotion making is. I also find that it is educational on so many levels. Take Care, Jen

Leave a comment