Thank You

I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart! I really cannot express how much it means to me that so many of you took the time to read, leave a comment or message me about my new blog.

Writing a blog can be very rewarding but it can also be scary to open up and feel so vulnerable. Have you ever had a conversation in which you admit something deep and personal and then the other person said nothing!? Sometimes it can feel like that when you blog and no one comments.

This reminds me of an amazing TED talk given by Brene Brown on The Power of Vulnerability.   This is the quote from TED about the talk,

Brene Brown studies human connection — our ability to empathize, belong, love. In a poignant, funny talk at TEDxHouston, she shares a deep insight from her research, one that sent her on a personal quest to know herself as well as to understand humanity. A talk to share.

If you watch it, please let me know because I’d love to have a conversation with you.  I can relate to Ms.Brown so well and the talk is very interesting and could possibly change the way you choose to live your life.

One of the most important things that I took away from this talk and what I hope this blog reflects is my attempt at having the courage to be imperfect, the compassion to be kind to myself and others and to be authentic. It’s a tall order and I don’t think I could do this without all of your support so again thank you so much. Here’s to connection and growing together!!! (just imagine clinking wine glasses together)

This entry was posted in Reflecting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thank You

  1. Keyla says:

    I Love this!

  2. Jill says:

    I LOVE your blogs Jen! They are so inspiring. I would love to start one too, to keep track of my life and all the emotions that are attached to this journey. You share your humanness with us all, and I know for me, it let’s me realize that other mothers are having some of the same feelings. You are such a great women 🙂

  3. miruspeg says:

    Hello my friend!
    I am enjoying reading all the comments on your new blog Jen…..”Life Inspired” is certainly a big hit!
    I have just watched the “amazing” Brene Brown’s video…..the raw truth can be so powerful.
    I totally understood what Brene was talking about because I think if we can all be courageously vulnerable, life becomes this immense playground which allows us to rediscover and reconnect with who we really are or want to become.
    Wondrous blessings to you, always dear friend. :0)
    Peggy xxxx

    • Jennifer says:

      Hello Peggy!!! Thanks so much for stopping by! I really want to watch Brene Brown’s video again just to keep reminding myself to open up and be more vulnerable. I think this is part of my plans for 2012. the word transform was the word that I just intuitively knew would describe the year and maybe this is part of that. I love how you describe it as a playground because that makes sense to me in the way that it’s so much fun but there’s always an element of risk in the things that are the most fun. I have always had this feeling that I just wanted everyone to like me, which I’ve definitely grown out of but it’s still lurking there under the covers. What I really want and what I think is core to most people is that I just want to be me and feel accepted as that, at least by the people that I love. Love and Blessings to you! Jen xoxoxo

      • miruspeg says:

        Jen I have just watched Brene’s video again….the 20 minutes just flew by as I soaked up her inspiring words. I wanted to be liked by everyone until I was fortunate to learn to love myself first and foremost. It is the key that opens the door to a healthy, happy, successful life. It is a skill like riding a bike, once learned it become part of our makeup and we can become “wholehearted” (as Brene so well stated).
        I loved the section where she discussed:
        “Courage – to be imperfect”
        “Compassion – to be kind to yourself first”
        “Connection – willing to let go of who you should be in order to be who you are”
        I hope I am able to always fully embrace vulnerability.
        Thanks again for posting this enlightening video.
        Namaste
        Peggy xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a comment