Marble or Ball Painting in the Swimming Pool

I’m always on the lookout for projects that I can do easily with both of my sons, who are 3 1/2 and 16 months. It can be especially difficult to find great art projects for young toddlers. One blog that always inspires me is The Artful Parent. Earlier this summer, I saw this post on painting in the swimming pool and finally got around to trying it with my little guys.

Considering Isaiah’s oral fixation, I decided to try it with various sized balls that could not fit into his mouth. I really liked how the texture from the different balls made different types of marks. I’m also looking forward to trying this on a smaller scale using marbles.

Okay, here’s what I did. I taped two large pieces of paper to their swimming pool and poured three different color paints into paper plates. I demonstrated dipping a ball in the paint, throwing it into the pool and lifting the pool so that the ball would roll to the other side. I only needed to show them once.

Kai, 3 1/2 years, experimented dipping the balls into multiple color paints. He also enjoyed having more than one ball bouncing around the pool at once. I was surprised how long this art project kept his interest.

Isaiah, 16 months, threw the ball into the pool a few times and squealed with delight. But once he noticed that he got some paint on his belly the intended project took a backseat to some serious body painting. This is another reason that I love painting outdoors in the summer. It’s so easy to just hose everyone and everything down.

 

The artistic process is so much more important than the final product. I love having children for so many reasons but one of the things that I appreciate most is how present they are and how fascinating every little discovery is to them. That being said…Isn’t the final product beautiful!?!

This entry was posted in Arts & Crafts, Children's Activities and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Marble or Ball Painting in the Swimming Pool

  1. Cool idea! I have done this with the boys in pizza boxes. Good for you for letting them get messy!
    .-= Sarah @ For the Love of Naps´s last blog ..Birthday treat ideas =-.

  2. I love the colourful photo of Kai’s hand in the green paint, such a great shot.
    My kids would really love doing this. Like you say it suits any age group but also gender.
    With a girl 3 and boy 6 I also find difficultly in engaging my children with the same activity.

  3. Heather says:

    This is a great activity! A fun way to pass the time, to see effects of movement in art, and to enjoy the sunshine.
    .-= Heather´s last blog ..A Taste of Autumn =-.

    • Jennifer says:

      Heather, Thanks for your comment. I didn’t even think about seeing the effects of movement in art! That is so true.

  4. Kelly says:

    “The artistic process is so much more important than the final product. I love having children for so many reasons but one of the things that I appreciate most is how present they are and how fascinating every little discovery is to them.” YES! I completely agree with you!

  5. Leslie says:

    love this! I’m definitely going to have to try this one!

  6. Hey Jenn,

    As usual, your posts are so varied and interesting. Can you tell me what kind of paint you used for the ball/pool project?
    .-= Deb Dubuque (Kirouac)´s last blog ..Okay- So I Couldnt Pull Off Pureed Carrots- But =-.

Leave a comment